Leadership Team - Chillicothe VA Medical Center
Attention A T users. To access the menus on this page please perform the following steps. 1. Please switch auto forms mode to off. 2. Hit enter to expand a main menu option (Health, Benefits, etc). 3. To enter and activate the submenu links, hit the down arrow. You will now be able to tab or arrow up or down through the submenu options to access/activate the submenu links.

Chillicothe VA Medical Center

Veterans Crisis Line Badge
My HealtheVet badge
EBenefits Badge

Leadership Team

Kathy W. Berger, MHA , DNP, Medical Center Director

Kathy W. Berger, MHA , DNP | 740-773-1141 Ext. 7002

Medical Center Director

Dr. Kathy W. Berger was appointed as the Chillicothe Ohio Medical Center Director effective March 17, 2019. Dr. Berger previously served as the Director for the Montana Health Care System. Past experiences include Nurse Executive, Chief of Quality, Performance and Patient Safety, and a variety of nursing and management positions. Dr. Berger began her nursing career as a staff nurse in a university medical center and has worked in a broad range of healthcare settings, including critical care and medical-surgical units, travel nursing, home health, long term care and ambulatory care clinics. In addition, she has had some unique volunteer experiences as a summer camp nurse and on medical teams in Mexico and Russia. Dr. Berger holds associates and bachelor’s degrees from Northern Kentucky University, a Masters in Healthcare Administration from California College of Health Sciences and a Doctor of Nursing Practice from the University of Kentucky. Dr. Berger served in the Air Force for nine years, stationed at three bases stateside and was the Officer in Charge while on deployment to Saudi Arabia. Upon leaving the Air Force, Dr. Berger joined the VA at the Cincinnati VAMC. Professional Affiliations include membership in the American College of Healthcare Executives and the American Nurses Association Dr. Berger is a graduate of Leadership VA (LVA), class of 2012.

James V. Zeigler, M.A., CCP-SLP, Associate Director (Acting)

James V. Zeigler, M.A., CCP-SLP Ext. 7001

Associate Director (Acting)

Mr. James V. Zeigler was appointed Acting Associate Medical Center Director at the Chillicothe VA Medical Center on April 1, 2019. Mr. Zeigler has over 8 years’ experience in VA Healthcare Administration. At his home station, Iron Mountain VA Medical Center he serves as Chief, Physical Medicine, and Rehabilitation services. Mr. Zeigler has held acting assistant and associate director roles in VISN 12 at Iron Mountain and VISN 8 Bay Pines VA Healthcare Systems. While serving as Assistant Director, Bay Pines VA Healthcare System he held full-line authority and oversaw the Cape Coral Healthcare Center, 960 employees, and 7 CBOC locations. Mr. Zeigler is a graduate of the VISN 12 Leadership Development Program as well as the VA Healthcare Leadership Development Program. He earned his master’s degree in Communication Disorders in 1999 from Northern Michigan University. Prior to joining the VA, Mr. Zeigler was an Assistant Professor and operated his own private Speech Pathology practice. Mr. Zeigler is a Veteran who served 11 years in the United States Air Force in administrative roles supporting the Office of Inspector General, Air Force Audit Agency Liaison, Base Education, Contracting Office and served as a Security Police Augmentee. Mr. Zeigler is a member of the American College of Healthcare Executives, American Speech-Language and Hearing Association, American Legion and a VHA Certified Fellow Mentor. Mr. Zeigler and his wife Brenda have 2 grown children, one granddaughter as well as one 4-legged Australian shepherd family member.

Deborah Meesig, M.D. , J.D., Chief of Staff

Deborah Meesig, M.D. , J.D. | 740-773-1141 Ext. 7002

Chief of Staff

Dr. Meesig joined the Department of Veterans Affairs in March, 2008, as the Chief of Staff. Dr. Meesig has a law degree and experience in complex matrix environment with clinical quality, patient safety, medication safety, performance improvement, and hospital operations. She is skilled in facilitating multidisciplinary teams with extensive experience in peer review, utilization review, physician credentialing and case management. She has hospital experience in medical risk management and compliance with healthcare laws and hospital regulations. Dr. Meesig has more than ten years of experience in private practice and 15 years in medical administration. She is board certified in Surgery, Colon and Rectal Surgery and a Member of the Ohio Bar. Dr. Meesig has previously worked as a staff physician at St. Ann's Hospital in Westerville, Ohio, as well as practicing general and colorectal surgery in a private practice. She also has administrative experience through positions such as Vice President of Medical Affairs at Grant Medical Center and Associate Medical Director of Quality and Resource Management at Grant/Riverside Methodist Hospitals. Dr. Meesig's degrees include: BS in Medical Technology from The Ohio State University School of Allied Medical Professionals, MD from The Ohio State University Medical School, Certificate of Medical Management from Kenan-Flagler School of Business, University of North Carolina, and J.D., Order of the Curia, from Capital University Law School. She has completed a Residency in General Surgery at The Ohio State University Hospitals and a Residency in Colorectal Surgery at Grant Medical Center.

Christopher Schweighardt, Associate Director Patient Care

Christopher Schweighardt | 740-773-1141 Ext. 7365

Associate Director Patient Care

Christopher (Chris) Schweighardt was appointed Associate Director for Patient Care Services/Nurse Executive effective January 6, 2019. Mr. Schweighardt joined the James A. Haley VA in Tampa, Florida, as the Chief Nurse of Acute Care Services in June 2016. Prior to the VA, he held Nursing Leadership roles including Nurse Executive in the private sector. Mr. Schweighardt was born in Lexington, Kentucky. He received his Bachelor of Nursing degree from the University of Kentucky in 1992 and his Masters in Nursing from Eastern Kentucky University in 2010. He is an active member of the American Organization of Nurse Executives and the University of Kentucky College of Nursing Alumni Association.